You are currently viewing UNEARTHED #3 presents: ZACK ZACK ZACK

Name of the band:

Yigit Bakkalbasi (bass, synthesizers), Cemgil Demirtas (e-guitar, vocals)

Year of formation:
2019, Vienna/Austria

Austria, even though we both come originally from Izmir/Turkey, we met and then started making music together in Vienna

post-punk, darkwave, synthwave, electronic, goth, alternative rock…

Past releases:
Kunst 2019
Sekretariat 2019
Brno 2020
EP 1 – February 2021
Album 1 – release date November 5, 2021

Most significant influences on your music:
She Past Away

About Zack Zack Zack:
Zack Zack Zack is Yigit Bakkalbasi and Cemgil Demirtas. Both are originally from Izmir, Turkey, currently living in Vienna, Austria.
The duo is bringing fresh music inspired by signature synthesizer sounds as well as traditional oriental instruments. They like to experiment and surprise with innovative mix of sounds and draw inspiration from bands like She Past Away or Depeche Mode.

Retro-Future, avant-garde, experimental, synthwave – their music is beyond borders and labels.

Their name is an artistic manifesto – a wordplay that refers to the Austrian political disaster (“Ibiza Affair”) from May 2019, which revealed the dirty face of politics and lead to the government’s fall.

This was the time when they started playing and their first single “Kunst” is the result of a live performance recording in Kunstschule Wien in June 2019.

On 12 February 2021 they released their first music video for the song “Bütün” and immediately caught international attention. Their debut album came out on 26 February 2021.

Please share with us, what is to be expected in the near future:
– our song “Bütün” is featured on the music compilation “Wien Musik 2021” as the first track on CD 1, now available here.
– Album 1 release on November 5, 2021: our debut full-length album including our EP 1 and new unreleased songs
– music video for “Sekretariat” in collaboration with Rob Barriales, an independent filmmaker based in NYC, to be released on November 12, 2021
– GoTV feature (interview and “hosted by” show): November 10, 2021
– our first vinyl is now in production and we are expecting it to be ready in March 2022, the first 100 pieces are limited signed red edition, pre-order here: Zack Zack Zack’s Bandcamp
– co-release of our Album 1 on vinyl and cassettes with Reclusion Records based in Arizona, US; limited number of the LP and cassettes will be available in their store in the US

– Loftival 2021: Zack Zack Zack & Captain Hot Dog Sauce (Hosted by Phat Jam Vienna): November 4, 2021, 9pm: more infos here
– Bloodbeat #119 feat. ZACK ZACK ZACK + THE GOOD FORCE: November 13, 2021, 9pm: more infos here
– Live@Radiokulturhaus, Wien: February 15, 2022, tba
– in-store concerts in record stores in Vienna from spring 2022: tbc

Zack Zack Zack’s website and social media links:


Credits (header pic and album artwork for “Album 1”): Zack Zack Zack